Another Jbody E85 subject…..from a different angle or perspective. - Tuning Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Another Jbody E85 subject…..from a different angle or perspective.
Monday, September 16, 2013 12:23 PM

E-10 isnt great gas to race with. Even at 93 octane. It does the job but for how long? In some states im sure E-15 is the minimum many have at their disposal. Seriously and I thought E-10 was bad.

Well given today’s economy and the control of flexible commodities our Bankers have acquired (Ethanal Credits). Im sad to say E-15 isnt far from taking over….maybe even E20 soon???. Blending ethanol in our good ol 93 ocatane fossil fuel is a nightmare for us who drive old cars. Or is it? I am a beginner in the tuning subject, but how does that do for a modified Z24 against a stock bone RS cavalier?

Given the fact that running E85 or even E47 is a touchy subject on this forum. Is it something we should be concerned with? Given an article ive read Bankers have own oil tankers and sell ethanol credits like it was a commodity simply to meet federal requirements of blending ethanol. This in turn will drive gas prices up. Which as well cause them to mix more ethanol in the gasoline. I cant even use E-15 in my lawn mover or weed eater. Fuel stabilizer anyone?

Im in the process of selling my 2010 SS/TC which runs E85 fine. Heck at $2.60 a gallon of that corn I don’t complain. MPG’s is another topic.

To get back on topic, once my Cobalt sells I plan to finish up the Z24. However I would like to prepare it for an increase in ethanol blend in the mix. So now this leads me to this question. What needs to be done to a Z24 to run “FULL” E85? Or at the minimum E47.

Injector orings, fuel pump? What else? Do fuel lines need to be changed out?

GMR has got nothing on this

Re: Another Jbody E85 subject…..from a different angle or perspective.
Monday, September 16, 2013 12:36 PM
I run mine on e85.