Noob(ish) Technical(ish) Fuel System Q's - Tuning Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Noob(ish) Technical(ish) Fuel System Q's
Monday, November 01, 2010 2:04 PM
Allright, you guys have seen me post before; I'm a noob with mechanical skills and technical acuity, I'm still in the researching phase. (and I bought a few books; "Maximum Boost", and "
How to Tune and Modify Engine Management Systems") I'm pretty good with basic maintenance and wrenching on the car but tuning and modding is a whole new world to me ( I have other technical hobbies that I have been very successful with.)

I'm reading the forums and stickies but I have some discrete questions about fuel systems that I cannot find the answers for;

1.) Is it possible to put in a fuel system that is turbo ready, but adjust the phase settings on the injectors for n/a until a turbo kit is purchased later?
2.) The 2200 OHV 2000+ had high or low impedance fuel injectors? or can I simply measure this with my ohm meter on the fuel injector harness? Can this be bought as a turbo ready component and run n/a until turbo is added later?
3.) A "FMU" is basically just a 4 valve FPR, which is basically just a mechanical solenoid, where increased boost (running in and out through two ports) inhibits return flow of fuel (through the other two ports)?
4.) Electronic control of fuel pressure can be fine tuned by adjusting resistance to the fuel pump?

Here's what I'm considering for my build spread sheet....and my tax return:
-set of 350cc 32lb/hr Venom Fuel injectors
-4 valve? FMU
-wideband stand alone gauge and controller
-HPtuners Pro

You guys are the best! Thanks for your guidance!

I like cold women and hot beer....errrr wait

Re: Noob(ish) Technical(ish) Fuel System Q's
Monday, November 01, 2010 5:11 PM
1. Yes
2. High
3. A FMU increase fuel pressure under boost based on the ratio of the diaphragm in it.