New member, looking to build up a cav. - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
New member, looking to build up a cav.
Monday, January 06, 2014 12:03 PM
Hey guys, I have been trolling this site for a few years now. I am on my second cavalier, my first was an 01 z24 ld9, I bought it brand new and drove it up until last year when I was t-boned in it at 185,000 miles. So this year I bought a used 2001 base model 2.2 LN2 with about 200k on it and I am going to be replacing the clutch soon so I was considering buying another engine as a builder and i was wondering what mod suggestions anyone had.

A little about me, I am a certified motorcycle mechanic, with almost 10 years of experience. I am well versed in engine building including performance mods, have dynojet dynomometer training, flow bench training, and I now work on heavy equipment (better money) and do a lot of bike building and fabrication. I do not have the time or money for trial and error, so I was wondering what has already been done and produced good results.

what I would like to do with the car:
a little better top end power, torque never seems to be an issue for these little 4's
throttle response
keep the engine smooth,
reliable ( I do not wish to push the limits of the motor so it will fail quickly)
and still pass smog.

oh... and I do not wish to turbo or supercharge, it really kills gas milage.

I read through the performance faq's so I would just like to hear the consensus.

Thanks in advance

Re: New member, looking to build up a cav.
Monday, January 06, 2014 12:16 PM