Longer rods in a 2.4?? - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Longer rods in a 2.4??
Wednesday, August 05, 2009 7:12 PM
ok so with the admittance of longer rods present in karo's slowfire miller performance built 259whp n/a ld9 motor i got to thinking....

so why cant everyone do it? now im no expert in this matter...and so i realize that changing the rod ratio is definitely something you need to know about before hand in engine building before you screw with it. i plan on getting all the information i can before even attempting to buy parts.

the way i understand it is this... you use a longer rod so it increases your cranking pressure, NOT COMPRESSION, and in doing so you increase the time or "dwell" the piston stays at Top Dead Center.

also, from another perspective with the longer rod, its going to dwell at TDC longer which means its going to sit at peak cylinder pressure longer than a short rod.

you also need to adjust the pin location in the piston to accommodate otherwise the piston will ram right into the head on our zero deck height.

so... thoughts? concerns? insights? pj i know you know about this stuff... where you at?

Every time I scream "Release", I mean it, you know it. I feel the day. Black 7.

Re: Longer rods in a 2.4??
Wednesday, August 05, 2009 7:45 PM
Not that I am going to change ANYTHING inside my block, im listening..........................

~2014 New Z under the knife, same heart different body~
306 TQ
Wednesday, August 05, 2009 7:55 PM
Hmmmm. You got me thinking now. And I don't even have the 2.4 anymore.

Till I buy another

Wednesday, August 05, 2009 8:12 PM
well what u listed is the jist of it pretty much sir.......... it would make ur r/s ratio just a little bit better too going from a stock 1.54 (not so great) to a............. well i dont know the length of the "long rod" so i cant tell what exactly what it would be but the closer to 1.75 the better.

mike