anti theft question - General Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
anti theft question
Wednesday, April 01, 2009 7:45 AM
Hi guys,

Ok, I go to look at this this 97 sunfire gt 2.4 to purchase for my son.
Dead battery, guy says there is a problem with charging system, but that it will start with a jump.
Tried jumping car, will not start. Pulled battery out of his car put it in sunfire and the car started.
I drove it around the parking lot. Not blowing oil, brakes are shot.
I am an industrial mechanic, I can handle repairing the brakes and charging system, I agree to purchase.

I came end of week, put in a new battery, car started drove it up on the dolly, paid the guy, towed the car home.

Went to pull it off the dolly, car will not start.
Turn the key, no solenoid click, no nothing.
Solid anti theft light on dash when ever I put the car in ignition position. I dont know if this comes up every time the key is in that position or not.
Tried a lot of things, still would not start.
I finally applied the emergency brake, put the car in neutral and pulled the dolly out from under the car to get it off the dolly.

Researched the non starting thing on the internet, found the crazy crap about gms anti theft.
The forums I found before this one said the light would have to be flashing for the anti theft to be active and gave the following solution.

" Turn the key to ignition let it sit that way for ten minutes, turn off for ten minutes, start car. "

Even though the anti theft light on my car is not flashing, I did the 10 minutes on with light showing, turned car off for ten minutes,
Starter will not turn over, no solenoid click.

Some forums say the anti theft disables the starter and the engine just spins. Some say the anti theft kills all ignition functions.
Maybe that it does both according to year of manufacture.
Anyone know which statement above is correct for a 97?