repair exhaust or get a header? - General Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
repair exhaust or get a header?
Monday, May 11, 2009 7:05 PM
so my 98 sunfire GTs (2.4) stock flex pipe took a dump on me today and the muffler shop wants about $230 CDN to repair/replace just that - new flex pipe and another pipe to weld up to the cat. I feel that is quite a bit of cash for such a simple repair. I have seen people go with a header for a little extra performance. I have searched a little around Ebay (about CDN 240 shipped for the OBX) and some performance stores at around CDN 290 in my town. I would do all the work myself. I have access to a welder but i have never done exhaust work myself before (or welding for that matter LOL)

I'm curious to know if it's worth it to do the header or should i just fix the damn thing and call it done. I have zero performance mods on it right now - possibly in the future though. Any thoughts? Where did you get your header from (especially if you're in canada)? And what other parts are needed to install a header too?

Re: repair exhaust or get a header?
Monday, May 11, 2009 7:26 PM
I say go for the mod. It will make the car a little louder but I'm sure you'll notice a difference in performance. I've owned 2 cars with headers and like the little bit of extra up and go it has =]

1997 Cavalier Z24 4Spd Auto. Magnaflow dual exhaust.
Monday, May 11, 2009 8:27 PM
I hope you have upgraded motor mounts. You need them if your not gonna have a flex pipe.

As for a choice, I say header. I love mine!

Monday, May 11, 2009 11:27 PM
hmmm, motor mounts. I'll need to search for what those go for - i seem to remember about a hundred or so. What if i just put in a cheap flex pipe too (now were going backwards, I know, haha)
the question of where you got your header is still out there though.
Tuesday, May 12, 2009 12:03 AM