looking for a good muffler - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
looking for a good muffler
Sunday, April 06, 2014 7:14 AM
Hello there, newbie here. I've read these forums a little bit in the past but now I need a little advices. It's finally time to replace the old original muffler on the '97 Z24. Yes, I said the original! It out-lasted my catalytic converter! Anyway, it's starting to get some small holes in the top and I want to replace it with something that doesn't sound far from stock but without the catalytic converter it sounds a little more ballsie than before and I'd kind of like to add to that just a little. The only other engine mod I've done is an air intake and RKSport motor mounts. I WILL IN NO WAY EVEN CONSIDER SOMETHING THAT SOUNDS RICEY!!! I cannot stand that annoying sound. My car seems to have a nice sound now with the lack of the converter and the air intake. Is there anyone out there with a similar setup as mine that knows what I'm looking for and might have some good advice on a muffler for me. Thanks in advance guys, I know from what I've read in the past one of you guys know what I need, this site is awesome and seems to have plenty of very knowledgeable people, glad to be part of it now!

Re: looking for a good muffler
Sunday, April 06, 2014 8:00 AM
Corsa
Sunday, April 06, 2014 9:02 AM
I would probably recommend a Dynomax super turbo muffler or a Walker Quiet flow and many have had success with a muffler from a Cobalt SS(must be the SS with stainless tip, it flows great). At this point any muffler has the potential to sound ricey with no cat and tiny factory resonator. I recommend putting a longer resonator in as well, it'll keep it deeper and less ricey.

Sunday, April 06, 2014 9:04 AM
Dynomax Super Turbo

Sunday, April 06, 2014 9:09 AM
Cobalt SS muffler is probably your best option. I would recommend a magnaflow but w/o the cat im just not sure on how it will sound.