The Virginia State Inspection Sticky - Mid East Region Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
The Virginia State Inspection Sticky
Friday, February 26, 2010 6:03 PM
I am a licensed state inspector. The point of this thread is for the discussion on inspection/ticket related questions in the state of VA. This thread will not be used to get illegal stickers, and please be aware, that unless i paste a statute up, what i say is my interpretation of the law, and what i would do, however, your case is between you, your inspector, and your local state trooper governing that region. I'll do my best to post up the statues and clarify them in to simplified terms.

I am here on the .org quite often, and i have no intention of leaving here. It may, however, take me a few days to get back to you depending on my work load. If i do end up leaving for whatever reason, and another inspector hasn't taken over this thread, i will have it unstuck/unfeatured.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edited Friday, February 26, 2010 6:05 PM

Re: The Virginia State Inspection Sticky
Saturday, February 27, 2010 12:26 AM
This is pretty win. I'll be the first to ask a question I guess...

When you get a VA state inspection, will it only fail with codes that show up red on the dash or will orange ones fail it as well? I heard there are different kinds like hard and soft codes or something and only hard ones will fail. Not sure if that's true, I know nothing about it lol.

And what are the rules regarding airbag lights? Is that an automatic fail? Also, do you have to have airbags or could you just say get the code cleared and it would pass? I'm guessing they don't physically check for the bag so it would probably be ok maybe? (not trying to get anything illegal to pass, I'm just asking)