Stuck on the sway bar! - Second Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Stuck on the sway bar!
Monday, March 28, 2005 12:34 PM
Hey guys,

Newbie here. I was hoping to introduce myself with some photos of my suspension and brake upgrade, but the front sway bar has me bogged down and I need some help.

Of all things to get stuck on too. Springs, struts, and knuckles were difficult for me, but doable. Thanks to sites like this.

I don't have enough clearance to remove the sway bar brackets and can't seem to work around it. Do I have to remove the lower suspension supports in order to replace the sway bar? And if so, how do I support everything above it?

Car: 90 cav 2.2

Re: Stuck on the sway bar!
Monday, March 28, 2005 2:06 PM
i removed one on a saturn SL2 once... (91) and it was a bitch. we had the car on a lift too. its basicly alot of giggeling around and slideing. you may wanna drop the control arms. that could make it easier.

Monday, March 28, 2005 2:18 PM
Dropping the suspension supports helps a good bit. Of Course we did it with the engine and transmission out so what do I know.

95 Cobra
Check out my site
Monday, March 28, 2005 4:52 PM
Quote:

. . . and it was a bitch

Thanks . . . at least I know it's not just me.
Monday, March 28, 2005 5:19 PM
Just unbolt the rear of the cradle, it will swing down far enough to pull it out. I've done it. And since you've done the brake upgrade, it's a good time to do it as you'll be getting your front-end aligned. If you already have had the alignment done, you should still be fine..
Monday, March 28, 2005 9:37 PM
Brandon Beck wrote:Just unbolt the rear of the cradle, it will swing down far enough to pull it out. I've done it. And since you've done the brake upgrade, it's a good time to do it as you'll be getting your front-end aligned. If you already have had the alignment done, you should still be fine..