3400 engine and transmission swap into gen 3 cavalier - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
3400 engine and transmission swap into gen 3 cavalier
Saturday, March 09, 2013 5:55 AM
i have a 01 cavalier 4 dr 2.2L auto, i plan on swapping everything out of my cavalier transmission, engine, computer ,harness, gauges...etc...for a complete system out of a montana 03 3400.....i am not a mechanic but i am very much mechanically inclined to do so ...i pulled my 3400 with 154,000 km out of my montana because is had a wierd rattling sound and wouldnt run properly ...i bought a 05 3400 with 150,00 on it for 650$ w/ warranty and installed with no issues.
i looked at my 03 engine only to find onr rocker arm came loose from head and striped out , i bought heli coil kit for it and now going to install in my cavy(.wife rolling her eyes at me ..lol..but i love to tinker with anything automotive)

my only question is about the drive axles and there different lengths or if there is any .can anybody help me out?...thanks in advance for any help

Re: 3400 engine and transmission swap into gen 3 cavalier
Saturday, March 09, 2013 8:35 PM
Sunday, March 10, 2013 4:03 AM
You'll need a PCM and wiring from a 3400 car like a Grand Am or something. You can use your factory automatic transmission with the 3400. If it's a 4spd, I don't know about how to control it with a computer though. If 3spd, you'll set up just about the same as setting up a 5spd car.

i find it amusing that SHOoff has nothing better to do but follow me around & be an unhelpful dick in even cross-forum. - Jon Mick
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 2:45 AM