Hood scoops - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Hood scoops
Saturday, February 12, 2005 7:07 PM
okay i'm posting this in the newbie section because that is what i am.. I'm still learning about mods and such so go easy on me.. And let me know if this is a stupid idea of mine.

Okay I have a 1997 cavy with the 2.4 L engine, I also have the aem Short Ram Intake but my question is about universal hood scoops that can be mounted down to the factory hood. I'm researching different types that can be mounted and made into a true hood scoop by cutting out the portion of the hood under the scoop. Well the actual question is;

What hood scoop would be best suited for this and where would be the best place to mount it for best results? And how would this effect performace in rainy conditions?

Re: Hood scoops
Saturday, February 12, 2005 7:11 PM
I honestly don't think ANY of them are meant to be molded in and cut to be functional. Pretty much all of those stick-on scoops are just ricer appearance mods for people who don't know any better.

With that said, you can probably make ANY of them functional if you put some effort into it. Just mold it on, cut the hole, and build some sort of duct underneath to bring the air where you want it.

If you can do custom body work then you can make this happen. If you can't, no amount of instruction here is going to help much. Find a body shop that does custom work and consult with them on it.

Saturday, February 12, 2005 7:21 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7953228852&category=36475

This is what i mean by the hood scoop thing.. Will something like this work and is it safe to have in a rainy climate?
Saturday, February 12, 2005 8:05 PM