Just got a 98 Cavalier, options? - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Just got a 98 Cavalier, options?
Saturday, December 17, 2016 9:00 PM
Basically I've been driving a 1993 Toyota Corolla DX sedan for several years without issue until a month ago when I randomly bought this car. I was at work when a buddy of mine tells me he bought a new Dodge so he wants to get rid of his old car, a wheezing chevy coupe. I said it couldn't hurt and took a look, he was the only owner since new and had done basic maintenance (better than none at all). It's a 1998 Cavalier base coupe with a 2.2L 3 speed auto in Manta Green Metallic, it's showing 139000 miles and the only thing currently non functioning is the AC due to a torn line. It's got new tires and beyond a few small scuffs and dings there's nothing truly wrong with it. I asked him how much and he said he really didn't care since his new car was 1000x better and gave it to me for $150 lol. So I figured since the investment was so low I replaced the fuel filter, spark plug wires and plugs, valve cover gasket, coolant temp sensor, throttle body gasket, TPS, fuel pressure regulator, replaced the transmission gasket since it was leaking and also did the filter/fluid at the same time because I was already in there. Also replaced all the fuses and replaced the seals around the fuel injectors all with AC DELCO parts. The car drives great albeit it rides a little rough but I intend to buy a set of KYB quick-struts to fix that soon. The last thing left to do is to replace the fuel pump/sock/evap pressure sensor and that should remove my current and only annoying issue which is a hard starting when cold. I narrowed it down to the fuel pump after countless hours of searching related issues on here and that crap chevy forum. I have one other issue which seems to be my ABS light is always on but the car displays no codes so it helps me none. But for a grand total of like 400 or so dol