adjustable struts + auto X - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
adjustable struts + auto X
Sunday, September 10, 2006 11:45 AM
How should I have Koni yellows setup for auto X (yellows with sportlines, sway bars, strut bars, bushings, mounts, ect.. )

should I just adjust them full firm and see what happens and go form there?

Re: adjustable struts + auto X
Sunday, September 10, 2006 8:31 PM
You could try setting it to the stiffest setting for the first run and see how you like it then adjust from there or just set it to full stiff and then maybe a couple clicks soft. Just a couple of options to try. I'm no expert by any means, especially since i have coilovers.

Monday, September 11, 2006 3:21 AM
depends on the surface. very stiff shocks work well on very smooth surfaces but if it is a little uneven or bumpy you might want to soften up. We run AutoXs on an older airstrip and it is little rough and let me tell you, soft is the way to go. I would say try running on the softer side, and stiffen up with each run until you feel that you are starting to lose grip.

Ideally you would want as close to full stiff front, and 50-75% stiff in the rear, but again it depends on the surface.

CAC2004 FSS#1, 2003,2004 Atlantic FSP #1, 2004 Overall Atlantic #1

Tuesday, September 12, 2006 7:07 AM
My setup:
Koni Sport kit (koni springs with the yellow struts)
25mm Addco swaybars front and rear
Strut tower braces.

So, slightly different setup so you know how to take my advice:

I run my rears fully stiff at least for the first run
At the same time, I run my fronts approximately halfway stiff.

Depending on track conditions, this can create a very neutral to slightly oversteering suspension setup for me.

If the track conditions are less than ideal, it can also create a very tail-happy condition off throttle. At that point, then I will adjust the rears to be softer.

-------------------------------------------------