03-05 sunfire headlights - Exterior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
03-05 sunfire headlights
Saturday, March 02, 2013 9:17 AM
hey guys, anyone else having issues with there headlights getting all hazy and clouded??? mine got really bad and i tried using the mothers wet sanding headlight restoration kit with the power ball and it seemed to work for a few months and now there hazy again. i;ve been told that the headlights have a uv protective coating on them and when you wet sand them it take that coating off and thats why they are hazing over really quick.

i was thinking about using clear coat to protect them after wet sanding them again what are your thoughts on this? and what kind of clear coat should i use? (i have no experience with paint other then rattle cans)

Re: 03-05 sunfire headlights
Saturday, March 02, 2013 9:44 AM
I'm having the same issue, seems like it got really bad this past summer and I don't want it to get any worse. I've heard that there's clears with uv protection in them but I don't know if they come in spray cans. I think checking with a body shop or auto paint supplier could answer this though.
Saturday, March 02, 2013 9:56 AM
I had the same issue,I just ordered 2 new ones.
Saturday, March 02, 2013 9:59 AM
id rather not have to order new ones as i have to get new tires and a few other things done. trying to keep costs as low as possible on this one. i can still see at night just the light output doesnt seem to be as good as it used to me.

Sunday, March 03, 2013 10:54 AM
I too have had the same problem i since have found practically brand new set at the junkyard and the old ones will now be experiments...
Wednesday, March 06, 2013 8:37 AM