motor mod help - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
motor mod help
Sunday, March 23, 2014 8:50 PM
OK so I am looking for a little help I am new to the j-bodys I am looking to build my 2.2 eco and I am want to do cams and not sure in a turbo or a supercharger I have not made up my mind yet on that. So my questions are whats cams should I do was thinking comp cams stage two with the supertech 78lb springs, I know I will need a tune after that. and when I do tune the new cams can I take of the 108 gov for the speed? so any help with some build ideas would be nice thank you and sorry for the noob questions.

Re: motor mod help
Sunday, March 23, 2014 9:59 PM
Cam selection is going to depend on you end goals, and where in the power band you want the cams to make power. Also, if you plan or boosting, there are cam grinds suited just for blowers and turbos.
The Supertech 78s are a good choice and will handle most off the shelf cam grinds out there.

Also look into custom ground cams. Places like Colt or Delta Cams (and others) will grind any spec you want.

If you're looking to supercharge, I have a kit for sale just FYI. Listed in the classifieds and NE region forum

Monday, March 24, 2014 7:09 AM
If I were in your shoes I would put all money into a supercharger kit. Springs and cams are nice, but you'll be disappointed with the actual gains you'll see with everything else stock.

"In Oldskool we trust"
Monday, March 24, 2014 8:36 AM
Well thanks for some help. How much psi can I run with thr sc kit with a comp one. Would I need new lifters or should I just buy new ones to just put them in?
Monday, March 24, 2014 9:01 AM
The supercharger kit is totally bolt on, no need to replace anything internally. I'm running a solid 15psi on my stock l61 ecotec, though psi is a relative number to the other mods you have done to your setup.

"In Oldskool we trust"
Monday, March 24, 2014 9:38 AM