Short shifter!!! - Transmission Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Short shifter!!!
Friday, June 07, 2013 9:23 AM
Hey everyone, im new to the cavalier world. just picked up my first, ive owned lots of other cars tho lol. i keep looking for a short shifter, but they dont list any for 95-99 2.2ohv cars. my car is a 97 2.2ohv. my question is i know that alot of thirdgen parts are interchangeable. would a short shifter from a 00-05 car work in mine easy? sorry ive searched and looked around tons and cant find any good info. Any help would be awesome thanks.

Re: Short shifter!!!
Friday, June 07, 2013 10:40 AM
No, they changed shifters in 2000.

Friday, June 07, 2013 12:04 PM
So then where do i get one for my car? has to be available somewhere??
Monday, June 10, 2013 4:00 AM
Philly D wrote:http://www.ebay.com/itm/RACING-SHORT-SHIFTER-CHEVY-CAVALIER-PONTIAC-SUNFIRE-95-96-97-98-99-/230994774570?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item35c85c8a2a&vxp=mtr

The B&M is discontinued so this is now your only option.

Thanks thats what i was afraid of. But guess i can give it a shot. ive had ok luck with ebay stuff, just really wanted a better made piece. but we will see i guess. thanks.
Monday, June 10, 2013 7:12 AM
FIts Cavaliers for the next 18,000 years.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edited Monday, June 10, 2013 7:13 AM
Attachments
ShifterWTF.png (11k)

Monday, June 10, 2013 9:01 AM
What about the Ralco shifters?

People switched to that when B&M stopped production - do they not make a shifter now either?

If you are patient lots of people sell their B&M units used...

-Chris-

-Sweetness-
-Turbocharged-
Slowly but surely may some day win this race...
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 5:37 PM
Just bought a Ralco last week 6-2-13 for a 05 off amazon. $56 with shipping. B&M dosen't make them anymore. 95-99 is one type 00-05 is a different design. Easy install and I think it works great.
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 6:07 PM